Department of Social Welfare 

National Chung Cheng University

The Institute of Social Welfare for the master’s level training was among the first five graduate institutes at National Chung-Cheng University when it was established in 1989. The Institute was soon expanded to incorporate both a doctoral program and a undergraduate program in 1992, and changed its name to the Department of Social Welfare. Since its inception, the Department of Social Welfare has focused on an interdisciplinary approach to research and teaching on social welfare policies. It hosts a faculty of diverse academic backgrounds including sociology, economics, political science, public finances, and social welfare/social work.

In the academic year of 2019-2020, the Department of Social Welfare has 15 full-time faculty members, including 9 full professors, 2 associate professors, 3 assistant professor, and 1 lecturer. Among them, there are 6 faculty members with sociology training, 2 with economics and finance training, 5 with social welfare and social work training, 2 with political science training. In addition, there are 10 adjunct faculty members from various fields including social welfare, social work, and law. The faculty uniquely contributes to social welfare policy development in Taiwan over the past decades.

The Department also distinguishes itself by the emphasis it gives to the ideological underpinnings of social welfare, and aims to highlight the vision of social welfare as a field of study that concerns not only with the techniques of policy design and evaluation, but with the moral, political, and philosophical debates in which any collective approache to the betterment of a human society inescapably has to engage.